Author Topic: Designing a Pressure Sensor Without a MCU  (Read 2071 times)

Offline MastermimeTopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
Designing a Pressure Sensor Without a MCU
« on: March 24, 2013, 11:40:03 AM »
Hello everyone,

I am trying to design a simple pressure sensor without the use of an microcontroller unit (Arduino, Axon, etc.) where once a force sensitive resistor reaches a certain threshhold pressure, send a signal to a Darlington transistor which will turn on a larger device.

The problem I am having is how to measure the pressure without a MCU.  I am not experienced at working with microcontroller chips such as the Atmega644 or anything like that.  Could I use a a microcontroller chip or is there an even simpler chip (something like a 555 timer) that could do the job?  Or would it be possible with no chip at all?

Any ideas are welcome

Thanks

Offline MrWizard

• Helpful? 0
  • My cylon friend told me a killing joke......
Re: Designing a Pressure Sensor Without a MCU
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2013, 12:54:30 PM »
Whats wrong with a contact switch on a scale ?

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2013, 01:34:14 PM »
Convert the pressure sensor output to a Varying Voltage then use a Comparator IC (LM339 is an old one) to drive a transistor switch.

Really this is very easy and has been done long before micro-controllers were available.

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2013, 08:27:02 PM »
Whats wrong with a contact switch on a scale ?
I'm a little confused on what you're saying here

Convert the pressure sensor output to a Varying Voltage then use a Comparator IC (LM339 is an old one) to drive a transistor switch.

Really this is very easy and has been done long before micro-controllers were available.

Oh yes I forgot about a comparator.  I will design a schematic and post to see what you guys think