go away spammer

Author Topic: Noob here - Want to build ~10mph personal vehicle for 2 people. [Electric Motor]  (Read 2164 times)

Offline jacksonTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
I want to build a small vehicle that can move 2 people at ~10 miles per hour.

I will be able to design the thing just fine, but I don't know anything about electric motors.

I want to use a Gas-powered Honda Generator ~120V (so I don't run out of fuel) to power a motor that's strong enough to move ~400 pounds total. - If this is just ridiculous, I would settle for using a car battery/s

All i need is a go button or switch.

Anyone have any ideas of what kind of motor I would want to get?  

edit:  it will probably have just 1 wheel in the back, and 2 in the front.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 11:29:30 PM by jackson »

Offline Daanii

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 3
How much money do you want to spend?

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Hi,

I want to use a Gas-powered Honda Generator ~120V (so I don't run out of fuel) to power a motor that's strong enough to move ~400 pounds total. - If this is just ridiculous, [...]
That IS ridiculous!
If you are prepared to put up with the noise of a generator, you'd be better off letting the generator drive the thing (remove the generator parts), or eg. a (Honda) 50cc 4-stroke engine.

By using a gas driven motor to generate power for an electric motor, you add conversion loss and complexity.

To move two grownups at 10mph, about 1hp/775W should be about right. 500W might just do it, but you don't wanna push it uphill I guess.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2010, 06:49:15 PM by Soeren »
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline madsci1016

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 43
    • Personal Website
Hi,