Author Topic: pathfinding algorithms  (Read 2666 times)

Offline [email protected]Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
pathfinding algorithms
« on: February 02, 2013, 06:24:44 AM »
hey guys ......... i am not a engineering student.....
i am 13 years old now .....
i started getting into the world of engineering from when i was 10 years old....
i started getting into  analog circuits and then microcontrollers.... etc
now i can possibly program microcontrollers for I/O ......
now i just had a plan to make a quad copter so did a long research n found out that i need to learn whats a PID controller
i learnt whats PID n now trying to implement it on a  line follower ........ n then i would probably start working on d quad copter.......
now as u can see internet was my teacher..... so i dont know advanced maths(as i am not a engineering student)  ....... but pathfinding algorithms seem to have advance maths.......
so can you guys tell me a list of maths topics that i have to learn......
i dont need to implement it on any robot..... but just wanna learn ....
if u point out what  topics  would i have to learn
i would slowly start learning........

thnxx in advance

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: pathfinding algorithms
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 05:32:27 PM »
First make sure you're really good with multiplication and division *in your head*. It helps a lot when doing steps of the next parts.
Factoring numbers *in your head* is an example of something very helpful.
Then make sure you understand algebra. Parentheses, simplification, extraction of terms.
Move on to algebraic equations -- solve for one variable in linear and quadratic equations. Solve for two variables in a two-equation system.
Then do trigonometry -- sine, cosine, tangent, and the inverse of those functions. Understanding trig is super important, but once you're into linear algebra and do 3D math, it's actually not *used* much, just a good grounding to understand.