go away spammer

Author Topic: Need information on how to control a microcontroller wirelessly  (Read 1514 times)

Offline Victor43Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Need information on how to control a microcontroller wirelessly
« on: September 26, 2011, 01:10:13 AM »
Ok I am very new to the electronics terminology so please bear with me if I don't choose the right words. I would like to learn for just the sake of learning and to satisfy my curiosity on how experts like yourselves would carry out such a project. So what we have is say any device like an everyday fan (used to cool you on a hot summer day). Ok then how would someone add a say a component which would allow one to control that device (in this case being a fan) wirelessly ? Now I know that fans do come with a remote these days but this is besides the point (the device could be really anything like a Microwave, Radio, Central Air (thermostats), a portable heater and etc, anything else really). So if someone wanted to control the behavior of that device like our fan (make it turn on, off, higher speed, lower the speed) how can this be done ? How is it possible to add a new electronic component (a wireless receiver) to an existing circuit board that would allow someone to control this fan remotely (wirelessly) ? Please the fan was the only example that I could think of even though I know you can buy one with a remote control. I just want to understand how some one can carry out such a project.