Author Topic: My homebrew CNC  (Read 17509 times)

Offline vinitoTopic starter

• Helpful? 6
My homebrew CNC
« on: February 27, 2011, 03:31:38 PM »
I just finished up a CNC machine I've been building over the past couple months. Today I just had to assemble it making sure things were square and parallel, etc.
I intend to use it for isolation milling for prototype PCBs. That should be nice for proving out a design before sending files to a board house to have some professionally made. I'm a machinist and this design is intensive in that area, so wouldn't recommend it specifically to anyone not skilled in the field. There are designs out there which are much easier to make. Now in electronics I'm a green hack at best, so time will tell what kinds of things the machine will end up making, but fortunately I have a buddy who is my electronics guru. This was actually a product originating from our paired desire to create some cool electronics widgets, so it actually stands a good chance of being a very useful machine.

It could also machine some small parts in soft materials too, and of course do some engraving as well.

It's not actually "complete" as there are a few things which will be improved in the future (such as a better spindle and various other things), but as of today it's a working machine and capable of doing some work.

I built it on the cheap for the most part. Much was pulled from the scavenge and scrap pile. All together the bought stuff totaled around $100 (driver board, power supply, hardware, etc.).

Couple for overall view.

Here are the driver board and power supply.

Offline BANE

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: My homebrew CNC
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 04:24:15 PM »
nice job and looks quite rigid,
I've been considering making something like this for pbc too since the printer toner method seems not to be working well for some of the boards ive made
$100 (driver board, power supply, hardware, etc.).