Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: hazzer123 on July 30, 2007, 04:53:25 AM

Title: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: hazzer123 on July 30, 2007, 04:53:25 AM
I want my PIC18F4520 to be able to control the hyperterminal using the control characters. I want to be able to clear the page and start a new line but i can't seem to do it.

I read somewhere that to clear the page, you send the ESC control character followed by "[2J". I have tried this using this code in C18.

putrsUSART (27);
putrsUSART ("[2J");

But it doesnt work.

It creates a gap in the text then shows a smiley face and the [2J.

Heres some info - http://www.bluesock.org/~willg/dev/ansi.html (http://www.bluesock.org/~willg/dev/ansi.html)

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Harry
Title: Re: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: Hal9000 on July 30, 2007, 04:56:42 AM
Hyperterminal sucks. I forgot to agree with you on msn the other day.

There is another program which is better altho I can't remember the name. I'm sure you can find it.
Title: Re: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: hazzer123 on July 31, 2007, 08:58:51 AM
Hi, thanks for the reply.

Yeah Hyperterminal sucks, but I want to have a system that can plug straight into any computer, and hyperterminal is on all windows computers i think.

I found my problem, it was that i had the baud rate low, and I was trying to send the information too fast. It was going missing since the buffer is too small.

Anyway, another question. Is there any software which will take some data from the serial port and display a graph (don't care what format, im sure i can configure my pic for this).

Thanks

Harry
Title: Re: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: DomoArigato on August 03, 2007, 11:46:58 AM
In hyper terminal you can save the data your robot sends and just import it into excel, but it would be too hard to write a program in Java to do it.  I had the same problems you were having, you have to use baud rates that have a low degree of error.  For people having similiar issues using AVR, there's a chart in the AVR chip papers that outlines what rates to choose
Title: Re: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: hazzer123 on August 04, 2007, 02:18:20 AM
Thanks

I managed to find out how to do it. I used ByteWedge http://www.bytewedge.com/ (http://www.bytewedge.com/). Its pretty easy to use.


Im using the 57600 baudrate, which is pretty fast. and it seems reliable.
Title: Re: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: iNFINITE on August 04, 2007, 09:03:12 AM
Guys do checkout the Br@y's Terminal.
http://www.smileymicros.com/download/term20040714.zip?&MMN_position=42:42

Its a much better alternative of hyperteminal



Title: Re: Sending commands for hyperterminal
Post by: Admin on August 12, 2007, 08:06:51 PM
Ive known robotics people to like teraterm, too.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TeraTerm

What you guys probably dont know is that hyperterminal can be used as an internet browser as well as for a modem link between two computers. Probably not useful since the early 90's, but you'd be surprised what it can do . . .