Author Topic: USB-USB Mirror  (Read 1542 times)

Offline simonB2010Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
USB-USB Mirror
« on: December 31, 2012, 09:35:40 PM »
Firstly, hello all, and thank you for being here !
I am a self confessed complete beginner to getting my computer to talk to the outside world, also to the world of RC.

Here's how I arrvied here ...
I currently plug my DSLR into my laptop via USB, using Canon utilties (running on windows) that came with the camera (400D), and I am able to control exposure, shutter speed, flash and a whole host of other functions.

What I would ideally like, is to be able to control all these intricate functions via Radio Control.
So 'all I am asking' is to  take the USB output of my pc, transmit those signals across the room, and have a receiver pick up those exact signals and feed them into my camera's USB.

wire > radio waves > back to wire.

Yup, I thought it might be simple !

As it stands after several days of googling .... this is turning into an absolute nightmare.
I am even prepared to have a second laptop at the receving end of the system if need be ... but even then I am struggling to find a solution.

Can anyone point me in a good direction on this ?

Many thanks

Simon

Offline billhowl

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: USB-USB Mirror
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2013, 02:37:58 PM »
A wireless USB transmitter/hub is likely to be the simplest way to do it.

If you want to do it yourself, then you need to find a microcontroller that can work as a USB host, and also receive a wireless transmission (possibly through XBee or similar,) and can then translate between USB and radio. Then, on the computer side, you need a similar microcontroller, that can pretend to be the camera on the USB bus, and send the commands it gets to the other end.