go away spammer

Author Topic: noise filtering caps  (Read 1597 times)

Offline LunchBox!Topic starter

• Helpful? 2
noise filtering caps
« on: April 30, 2009, 10:29:54 PM »
Is there a any downsides to using larger capacitors than ~.1uf
like 10uf or 100uf?

Offline aludra_55

• Helpful? 0
Re: noise filtering caps
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 10:45:23 PM »
i'm a newbie...  i guess capacitor is like a glass that you could fill in with water...
the bigger the glass, the more time it takes to fill it...  and vice versa with smaller
glass...  same thing with discharging it...  it is faster to empty a small glass of water
by sipping it through a straw than a huge glass of water...

so you have to ask yourself, what are you using the caps for?... are you using it
as a filter, decoupling, etc?...   if you're going to use it to just to further stabilize your
voltage for your microcontroller, then putting small caps like .1uF really close to your
uC would be good in catching those fast short spikes...  if you're just using it for
your voltage regulator, then 100uF for the input voltage going to the regulator and
10uF for output would be good...  but if you're using it as a low pass filter, then you
have to specifically choose your caps based on what frequency you want to filter...

but that's just me...  i'm still a newbie..   

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: noise filtering caps
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2009, 07:26:37 PM »
Hi,

Is there a any downsides to using larger capacitors than ~.1uf
like 10uf or 100uf?
If I asked you if there would be any downsides to using a larger knife for the next cut I have to make, then what would you answer (not knowing if I'm a surgeon, a butcher or perhaps was about to "skin" a whale).

That said, I have to say yes, as any choice of component values you make will be a compromise.