go away spammer

Author Topic: Making a robot that solve a rubik's cube.  (Read 3041 times)

Offline MehalTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Making a robot that solve a rubik's cube.
« on: June 09, 2014, 10:01:09 PM »
I want to make a robot that can solve a rubik's cube as a part of my college tech-fest. I have sufficient knowledge of cubing, but not about programming.
My question is, how to make the robot decide the necessary algorithm and execute it.

PS. I have very little knowledge of programming, so please explain in simple language...THanks

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: Making a robot that solve a rubik's cube.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2014, 10:21:27 AM »
Your proposal is actually a fairly advanced planning problem. Tackling that as your first program without a very hands-on tutor is unlikely to be successful.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2014, 09:30:50 PM »
So where do I need to focus on and from where to start??? What to learn for that?

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2014, 08:56:51 AM »
Get an Ardiuno board and start to learn how to program. First task is just blink an LED at the rate you wish.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2014, 09:52:13 AM »
Hey, by little knowledge of programming means I know these things. I have made a few simple basic robots.I have made a RC Car using Aurdino and A wall follower and line follower using AVR.....What next?????

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2014, 10:21:42 AM »
First: Solving the cube likely needs more RAM than what's available in the Arduino. Thus, you need to find a computer that you can interface to your robot actuators, either using direct interface (like a serial bus, for example,) or by talking to a microcontroller which in turn talks to actuators.