go away spammer

Author Topic: Cheapo sound playback  (Read 3935 times)

Offline greywanderer012345Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
Cheapo sound playback
« on: October 07, 2010, 12:24:23 PM »
I've been searching SoR for general information on sound playback for robots. Everything I found dealt with some costly circuit, hacking an mp3 player and more costly options. I'm thinking of implementing some sound into my robot and I don't need it to sound perfect, or even nice. I have toys around my house that cost less than $3 and play recorded voices and music, so there has to be a cheap way to build sound into a circuit. Any ideas? (btw, I'm totally new at electronics, so please excuse anything obvious I haven't thought of. Thanks

Offline KurtEck

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 12
Re: Cheapo sound playback
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 12:47:52 PM »
On a couple of my robots that don't have sound on them, I have simply used a cheap speaker from radioshack part number 273-092.  Make sure to not get a buzzer as they just buzz all the time when power is connected... I have one of these on an Arc32 based processor and another one on an Arduino Mega based board.

On the Arduino I wrote some quick and dirty functions to output some sound which worked well enough for me.  I simply wanted some beeps to know when I choose a command and the like.

I can post the code if you would like...

Offline cyberfish

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 3
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2010, 01:39:15 PM »
Something like this?
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=668-1128-ND

You'll also need a DAC (digital to analog converter) for your microcontroller to output analog voltage, and an audio amplifier (something like http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=497-3991-5-ND) to drive the speaker.

(I didn't actually research those components. I just randomly picked them in 30 seconds. You'll want to actually research into them).