go away spammer

Author Topic: advices needed on chassis for mini itx powered robot  (Read 5797 times)

Offline zeogradTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
advices needed on chassis for mini itx powered robot
« on: August 20, 2009, 06:35:24 AM »
Hi all,
  this is my first post so I hope I'm doing it right.

I want to build a small robot based around a mini itx pc motherboard. I have good software skills (doing linux kernel programming for living and developping for 20+ years in C, asm, ...) but I'm new to robotics itself.
I would like to be able to mount a mini itx mobo on a wheeled platform and only focus on sensor and dc driving and not much motor choice/mounting and the like.
My goal would be to prototype an indoor robot doing location and mapping thanks to computer vision mainly.
After reading the linux robot book from D. Jay Newman, I thought that the platform used in this book was suitable for me ( https://www.zagrosrobotics.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=519&catid=1 ). I would then add either phidgets or axon,... to read sensors via usb and actuate via a serial or usb driven H-bridge

My problem is that Zagros does not seem to ship internationally for a reasonable price (ie for the parts I needed, I ended up with a 260$+ S/H fee) and they don't seem to have resellers.

I was then looking for other potential mobile robot platform, but I either found smaller, 4WD chassis, like from lynx motion, or "clunkly" looking ones in robotshop ( http://www.robotshop.ca/base-mobile-hcr-dfrobot-1.html ).

I don't recall seeing in the forum someone else using mini itx mother board to build a robot around, but you probably have some ideas on which mechanically-ready chassis could be use to support this.

Thanks in advance,
Olivier

Offline blackbeard

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
Re: advices needed on chassis for mini itx powered robot
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2009, 01:29:34 PM »