Author Topic: Power Conversion Questiions  (Read 12318 times)

Offline seal killerTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Power Conversion Questiions
« on: September 19, 2006, 08:43:13 PM »
All--

(Hi. I am a newbie.)

I am an electronics novice. However, I can pretty much read a schematic and I built a lot of stuff when I was younger, including a few robots. (Think 30 years ago.)

It is time for me to get back into the robot building hobby. There is so much more available now than before! It is amazing.

My current design will be large (50 to 250 pounds), slow (walker with 8 legs) and I would like to off-load all the processing to a PC or a network of PCs via wireless link. (I am looking at Robot Electronics RF04/CMO2 combination with the GPIO14[ for I/O.)

Here is my question. It looks like I will definitely need 5v for logic, 6v for motors, and MAYBE 12 volts for . . . something. Can I just use a couple 12 volt batteries in parallel and hook a 5 volt DC to DC switching converter to them AND a 6 volt DC to DC switching converter? I cannot figure out a reason to run the leg motors--which will be very low rpm and include encoders--from a converter. Therefore, my plan is to power them directly from the batteries.

I would really appreciate any thoughts you may have for me.

--Bill

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Power Conversion Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2006, 09:40:24 PM »
Sounds expensive  ;)

Lets see, 8 legs, 3 motors each, thats 24 motors . . . Each motor will be like $50 . . . that equals . . . a lot.

As for your battery question, it really depends on how much current your components will draw. You must use a 5V voltage regulator for logic, and you can use any battery you would like for it. I recommend a small 6V NiMH battery.