go away spammer

Author Topic: Hi and does such a thing exist?  (Read 3730 times)

Offline TarksTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hi and does such a thing exist?
« on: October 17, 2007, 11:34:07 AM »
Hey, I'm interested in making my own robots/general electrical devices, I'm a games programmer at University and I have very decent c++ programming skills.

My problem is that I have very little electrical/engineering skill, which is something that I hope to change by building stuff, however at the moment I'd like to get started fairly quickly with something that I can write code for on the PC (preferably in something more abstract than assembly, c++ would be a great help) and send/flash to a PIC/chip which will then let me add sensors/displays etc when and if I need them. I guess I'm looking for something pre-build but very extendible, does this exist?

Offline jchahn

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Hi and does such a thing exist?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2007, 05:48:11 PM »
I am also highly interested in the same question.  I'm a senior CS major and I want to start tinkering with robotics.  Obviously, I have a strong programming background as I'm a Senior and I've been working as a software development intern for 1.5 years.

Ideally, I would like a kit that is initially simple from an electronics/mechanics standpoint, but highly robust from a programming standpoint.  I want to use this as a way to do my own AI/Logic research, and also add audio/visual input for things like line following and image recognition.  I would like to be able to make it more and more complex overtime from a mechanical/electrical standpoint, so it needs to be expandable and customizable.

I think we are looking for very similar things.

I will keep an eye on this thread.  I'm looking for suggestions to fit my criteria, if any such thing exists.

paulstreats

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2007, 06:41:34 PM »
i think your best idea would be to buy an 'evaluation' board. (atmel, microchip )