go away spammer

Author Topic: Language for Robot Control  (Read 3261 times)

Offline Builder1Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Language for Robot Control
« on: July 02, 2008, 03:51:09 PM »
Hello Everyone,
I am new to building robots and have never written programs for one. I've read somewhere in this forum that VB can not be used to program a bot, if that is the case, can I use C++? Also ,if my algorithm is too lengthy and can not fit on a micro controller, what other options do I have aside from a laptop? Please respond as best you can, thank you in advance for your time.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2008, 03:58:37 PM by Builder1 »

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
Re: Language for Robot Control
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2008, 03:58:23 PM »
microcontrollers can only be programmed in assembler. as long as there exists a compiler of your favourite language for the microcontroller of your choice, you can program your microcontroller in that language.

if you run out of space, you can always share tasks between two (or several uc). Memory space and program space cover a broad range, from tiny devices like PIC10 to huge devices like the ATXMEGA or ARMs.

Don't worry, if you never worked with ucs before, there won't be a case yet where you algorithms will even exceed half of the program space.
Check out my homepage for in depth tutorials on microcontrollers and electronics.

Offline bens

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2008, 04:10:29 PM »
Don't worry, if you never worked with ucs before, there won't be a case yet where you algorithms will even exceed half of the program space.