Author Topic: Biped Construction  (Read 6158 times)

Offline RolfTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Biped Construction
« on: April 18, 2007, 04:25:16 PM »
Hello.

If you don’t want to read my full post, my question basically is:
How do I build the legs for my servo-based biped?

---full post---
I am quite new to robot-building, but I have recently built my first robot; an obstacle avoiding two-wheeler. Now I want a bit of a more challenge, and have decided to build a Biped. I have searched the Internet for a long time to find out how to do this. I then ordered eight standard-servos, a servo-controller, an accelerometer and an AVR Controller Board.

What I think will be the biggest challenge is constructing the legs. I think making them out of acrylic glass might work. Does anyone have experience on doing this? Maybe there is a web-site explaining how to build biped-legs with easy-to-get materials?

When I get my biped walking, I will add sensors to it; the accelerometer to make it balance, IR-sensors for range detection, and so on. I just have to overcome the problem of building the legs…

Thanx for helping me!
Robots are fun  :D

Offline ed1380

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Biped Construction
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2007, 05:06:14 PM »
[ shaped brackets

Thats what all the sevo controlled bipeds look like (the ones I've seen at least)
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Somchaya

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2007, 05:30:19 PM »
[ shaped brackets

Thats what all the sevo controlled bipeds look like (the ones I've seen at least)

Hmm, can you go into a little detail about this? I'm also pretty interested in learning it for fun..
Somchaya - Back after a year of misc things
http://whisker.scribblewiki.com

Offline Somchaya

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!