go away spammer

Author Topic: Inverse Kinematics Help  (Read 3164 times)

Offline idee17Topic starter

• Helpful? 1
Inverse Kinematics Help
« on: November 29, 2012, 08:59:56 PM »
     I have little experience with trigonometric functions, and was seeing if anyone can help me get some algorithms running for inverse kinematics. I have read of the robot arm tutorial with the inverse kinematics stuff and understood most of it, except the part with "psi" and "theta". I thought that those words are like variables that values assigned too (more programming experience then trig), if that's right, what symbol do they correspond to? Just one more thing, I'll be running the algorithms that are processing intense on my computer.   

psi = arccos((x^2 + y^2 - L1^2 - L2^2) / (2 * L1 * L2))
theta = arcsin((y * (L1 + L2 * c2) - x * L2 * s2) / (x^2 + y^2))
where c2 = (x^2 + y^2 - L1^2 - L2^2) / (2 * L1 * L2);
and s2 = sqrt(1 - c2^2);

~Thanks Idan
There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Inverse Kinematics Help
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 09:55:26 PM »
Psi and theta are just  Greek letters that are commonly used to represent angles when applying equations to a geometry scenario, such as you posted. There is not set value for this letter, essentially it is just a variable that can be used to represent an angle.It is more so convention that Greek letters are used to label angles.

When you are writing programs you don't have to use these symbols, you can use any unique letter in your program. For example Psi could be swapped for A and theta could be swapped for B to make programming simpler.

Cheers,

Joker94

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2012, 03:28:32 AM »
Θ - theta
Ψ - psi