Author Topic: NOOB question - simple unidirectional motor driver.  (Read 4444 times)

Offline philTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
NOOB question - simple unidirectional motor driver.
« on: March 11, 2008, 11:08:51 PM »
Let me start by saying that I am a programmer-type that is new to electrical design.  I've built 1 line follower robot where the motors are driven by an npn transistor.  So, now I have a new project and need to control the speed of the motor and would like to use MOSFETs.  However, I have am suffering from information overload and need to sort some things out...

Okay, I need to control the speed of a DC direct drive motor with a PWM signal.  I only need to turn the motor in 1 direction, so I don't need a full H bridge.  What I am not sure about is if I even need a half bridge.  Can I get away with a single MOSFET (N or P) or do I have to have both?  It seems like having both just allows you to reverse the signal but I don't need that.  If I can just use one, which type should I use?  Either way, what parameters should I look for when choosing MOSFETs?

Also, I realize I could just buy an H-Bridge IC and use it but I am kind of trying to learn the inner workings here, so I want to do it myself, just this once.  I plan to make a small motor driver board with 5 header pins: power, ground, signal (PWM), and the 2 motor connections.  I think I can just use a P-MOSFET (or N) a schottky diode, and perhaps a 5V regulator unless anyone thinks I need anything else.

Oh, one parameter for this project is that the motor draws 2A at nominal speed and up to 8A when stalled, so I need to be able to handle up to 8A, I guess.  I plan to use a 5V regulator since 8A isn't going to happen very often, but maybe I should go higher.

Offline Del

• Helpful? 0
Re: NOOB question - simple unidirectional motor driver.
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2008, 12:46:23 PM »

Maybe this "Google books" link will help (start reading from page 100 / experiment 36):