go away spammer

Author Topic: new to SOR, looking for motor and motor controller info.  (Read 2625 times)

Offline HydrogenTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
new to SOR, looking for motor and motor controller info.
« on: June 13, 2009, 11:52:21 PM »
Well im new to SOR, interested in robotics, and im about to start mech eng.

Ive have played with prebuilt RC stuff before,  i can solder anything, given a good schematic, i can weld, but when it comes to figuring the electrical limits and value, im pretty much lost.  

So to get into the field, i want to make a small/sold prototyping platform (anywhere from say 5-35 lbs) that i will RC first, so i can try out some drive trains, wheel and tread systems, so i can then get a feel for how things need to move when i start programming. Id like to start with rc, and then once i start programming, id like to be able to mount one of my netbooks ( max of 5lbs) using usb motor controllers or servo controllers ? i havnt thought that far ahead yet, as id like to get a solid mechanical platform to start with.

I do need some help picking out some good motors and controllers to start with. Id like something speedy, with some power too. ( assume end weight from 5-35 lbs, assume any power level, 2 or 4 wheel drive, or tread, which i assume will need more powerful motors)

Thanks, Hydrogen
« Last Edit: June 14, 2009, 12:44:07 AM by Hydrogen »

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: new to SOR, looking for motor and motor controller info.
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2009, 03:12:14 AM »
well, can you define "fast" this can mean a lot of things to us ;D
to me, RC is useless... autonomous is the way to go...
you can check out wheelchair motors as they are EXTREMELY strong... ie. you can ride your robot around...
as for a motor controller check out the sabertooth controllers, ive heard only good things about them.
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/Sabertooth2X25.htm