go away spammer

Author Topic: Serializer WL or other method for hardware dummy?  (Read 2344 times)

Offline nateTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Serializer WL or other method for hardware dummy?
« on: May 08, 2009, 09:16:48 AM »
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the concept of tinkering with hardware, but I have some projects I need to help knockout for some joint venture ideas with a friend.

The first project is to take input from a set of flexible stretch sensors (like the ones found here : http://www.imagesco.com/sensors/stretch-sensor.html ), and get that data back to the computer (by wireless means if at all possible, bluetooth or wifi).

Second project is to transmit that data and the positioning of some sensors on a small 1.5-2 foot skeleton.  Like the above, this information will be sent to the computer wirelessly as well.   I'm wanting to know the position of joints and possibly a gyro. Once there, I'm going to be developing some software that allows you to assign the movements in real-time to 3D animation cartoon sequences (pretty fun eh?). 

Ultimately, this "toy" would allow folks to create avatars and put together little stop-motion pictures without so much stopping.  Additionally, I'm writing some software with basic phonetic decoding to lip sync audio onto the chars.  This would result (hopefully) in allowing rapid prototyping and animation of mini-cartoons.  8)

The good news is that I'm very experienced as far as software and have been in the field professionally for well over a decade.  I can handle doing just about anything with the data, once I get it.  Which brings me to the problem of getting that data!