go away spammer

Author Topic: difference between balun and ceramic filter?  (Read 7383 times)

Offline AdminTopic starter

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
difference between balun and ceramic filter?
« on: February 26, 2010, 05:30:53 AM »
Is a balun a ceramic filter? Or are they different things that are often used together? How do they differ?

All I can find is this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balun

but it doesn't say anything about ceramic filters . . .

When I look up Balun at mouser.com, it lists a few called 'ceramic filter' so not sure . . . its for a 2.4GHz transmitter thingy I'm working on, and I'm no RF expert for sure!

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: difference between balun and ceramic filter?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2010, 07:46:38 AM »
A Balum is and a filter are two different things but there are other considerations. Looking at the Wiki page on Balum you see that it is a transformer thus it has reactantance with AC current that has an optimal frequency to transform. Other frequencies will be attenuated. A Balum is still not considered a filter even though it has pass-band characteristics but it is also possible to combine the two into a single package or a marketing person saw the pass-band characteristics and the use of a ceramic sub-strate then gave it that name.

Here is a good guide on ceratic filters:http://www.murata.com/catalog/p11e.pdf

The Mouser catalog does make it sound as though a Balum and filter are the same. But if you look at this data sheet: http://www.mouser.com/catalog/catalogUSD/641/1019.pdf
You will see that it covers a group of components and this is what the Mouser list is showing. Just a case of who ever put the information in the catalog does not know what these components really are and so just uses the titling from the manufacturers data.

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots