Author Topic: 1st robot microcontroller questions  (Read 2236 times)

Offline CentaurTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
1st robot microcontroller questions
« on: March 01, 2008, 02:26:08 PM »
Hi all,

I have some questions on microcontrollers.  The specific questions are numbered to make it easier to follow exactly what I'm asking and so I can follow what you are responding to (please place the numbers next to your answers).  The rest of the info is background info to help you understand my situation.

Background:
The other week I decided that it would be fun hobby to make robots (especially ones that chase my sisters crazy dog around, I promise video in the future), so here I am.  I'm a 23 year old mechanical engineering student out of Akron Ohio (graduating this may).  I have extensive experience with RC aircraft, where I have designed and built them from scratch for an international competition (I have placed in the top three for the past three years).  Obviously enough, RC is quite different from autonomous robots.  With my area of expertise being in mechanical components, I have several questions regarding the electronics.  Additionally, I have some experience with programming, particularly MATLAB and excel based macros.  I have written several macros and programs with well over 1000 lines (teaching myself) so I think I'll be able to get up to speed on programming rather quickly.  With this background hopefully you'll be able to better understand what I am looking for in a microcontroller. 

Yes I have read the FAQ on microcontrollers (several times), and the tutorial on the $50 dollar robot, and the motor control, sonar, I2C, UART, etc...  What's amazing is I've probably only read 1/10th of what's on this website.  Based on my initial research I've already decided to go for an AVR controller to narrow down the selection, but I still find many differences and so I still have many questions.

Questions: