go away spammer

Author Topic: Robot Power  (Read 7791 times)

Offline Jon_WayneTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Robot Power
« on: March 18, 2007, 11:34:27 PM »
Im a beginner and was wondering if my schematic appears to be ok, this is how i intend on wiring my robot. please submit feedback and let me know if im doing something wrong

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h28/jon_w_grimaldi/robotPower.jpg
« Last Edit: March 18, 2007, 11:36:19 PM by Jon_Wayne »

Offline hgordon

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 7
    • Surveyor Robotics Journal
Re: Robot Power
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2007, 08:46:26 AM »
I would suggest wiring all of the ground connections together (charger, battery, microcontroller) -  then you only have to switch the +V side of your power.

How are you powering the microcontroller ?  You could use a voltage regulator to source power from the motor supply.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2007, 09:29:39 AM »
im using a seperate 9v battery and regulator for simplicity for now, ill probably end up switching later on though.

Offline hgordon

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 7
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2007, 10:33:25 AM »
No problem - in any case, I would suggest coupling all the grounds throughout the circuit, since they will probably couple through the motor controller anyhow.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2007, 11:37:06 AM »
« Last Edit: March 19, 2007, 12:20:10 PM by Jon_Wayne »

Offline hgordon

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 7
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2007, 03:40:00 PM »
Sure, but do it before the switch (i.e. ground the negative terminals of the battery and DC supply), and then you only need to switch the + voltage.  Also, make certain to tie this ground to the processor ground.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2007, 09:50:42 PM »