Author Topic: Newbie to AVRStudio  (Read 12445 times)

Offline vidamTopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 1
  • Robotronics.org
    • DC/MD/VA Robotics and Automation Team
Newbie to AVRStudio
« on: June 09, 2008, 09:19:02 AM »
Hi,

I'm a newbie to AVR Studio. I am wondering how you can debug your code before downloading to the mcu. For example, I want to use printf statements to print to a console window in AVR STudio. I tried this and did not see where the output statement "hello world"  is printed.
Code: [Select]
int main(void)
{

configure_ports();
printf("hello world");

}
« Last Edit: June 10, 2008, 01:50:55 PM by vidam »

Offline SixRingz

• Helpful? 0
  • Bit's and pc's = Robot.
    • ManMachineSystem
Re: Newbie to AVRStudio
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2008, 04:28:50 AM »
Debug your code before you download it to the mcu? I'm not sure I understand... Do you want to run the code and print some outputs? Then you need to 1. Get an emulator program for the PC (if AVRstudio doesn't have one) or 2. Download and run the code with the mcu and use serial or some other communication line to screen on PC.

Grounding things properly means burying them in the backyard...

Offline pomprocker

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2008, 09:59:16 AM »
AVR Studio would have to compile for windows or mac for it to run on your computer.

Try using MetroWorks CodeWarrior (Free IDE) and doing some compiling of C for your OS.

Offline Webbot

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2008, 01:05:43 PM »
AVR Studio does allow you to run your code in Debug Mode. However - since its running on your PC then its actually not of much use since the sensor inputs, and actuator outputs, aren't connected to your PC.
Its fine if you just want to test stuff that doesn't require I/O - which isn't much