Author Topic: Multi-tasking Microcontroller  (Read 8924 times)

Offline Builder1Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Multi-tasking Microcontroller
« on: July 11, 2008, 07:46:59 PM »
Hello Everyone,
Suppose I plan to use several motors to drive a robot and the motors need to communicate with one another. How can I multi-task a microcontroller or a group of microcontrollers so that several motors  can communicate with each other and do what they have to do? Is that possible ? I am a complete noob to building robots so the answers to my questions maybe real obvious to all you experts out there, so please excuse my inexperience. Please explain how what I have just described can be done if it is in fact possible. Thank you in advance for your help.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2008, 11:07:33 AM by Builder1 »

Offline TrickyNekro

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • Hardware and Firmware Designer
    • The Hellinic Robots Portal
Re: Multi-tasking Microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2008, 02:36:27 AM »
From my experience you can not multitask a microcontroller... that's bad I know....
But that's for common micros... Parallax Propeller I heard that handles multitasking but never got the chance to work with it...
And the bad thing about propeller for me is that the 3v3 operating voltage is quite restrictive for new users....
Anyway...

I don't know which microcontrollers can be multitasked.... but 8 bit AVR and PIC won't multitask...

But if you are good in programming and the architecture of the machine you are using you can handle time properly and
manage to get some things done will others are in progress...

Better use a main microcontroller with other "support" and smaller ones...

That's from me...
Lefteris,
Greece
For whom the interrupts toll...

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2008, 05:29:22 AM »
Ahem, hell knows what "motors need to communicate to one another" means.