go away spammer

Author Topic: Arduino Diecimila: Good for a Beginner?  (Read 5887 times)

Offline ParthTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Arduino Diecimila: Good for a Beginner?
« on: June 05, 2008, 08:29:02 PM »
Hey everybody! I'm really into robotics and was just wondering if the Arduino Diecimila was a good deal and good enough for a complete beginner like me. I've read up on all the tutorials (so I know there's no thing as the BEST microcontroller) and other posts. I've learned that there is no power bus (if that's important IDK).. Also, I'm going into robotics long-term and just need some foundation to start on. In addition to everything else, I'm on a strict budget. The only money I get to spend on robotics is the money my sister decides to so gratefully help me out with. BTW, I have VERY little knowledge on programming. All in all, the whole point I'm trying to get to is if the Arduino Diecimila is easy to use and good for a beginner. Thanks for the answers (and sorry for having to read all of that)!
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 08:30:47 PM by Parth »

Offline sonictj

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
    • Tim's Workshop
Re: Arduino Diecimila: Good for a Beginner?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2008, 01:01:21 AM »
I just got into robotics just like yourself and plan on pursuing it professionally.  I bought a diecimila and love it.  The programming language, as you likely already know,  is similar to c++ and is fairly simple to use.  If you don't know c++ you should still be able to get the hang of the arduino without too much trouble. 

The software that comes with the board has built in examples.  You should start off by experimenting with these, and soon you will be writing your own programs with no trouble.  I built a photovore, like the $50 bot, the first day I received the board.

**********NOTE************
I you like using a breadboard I would consider buying the nano instead of the diecimilla it has relatively the same features, but it is breadboard friendly.