go away spammer

Author Topic: Number of Microcontrollers Required  (Read 2213 times)

Offline Builder1Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Number of Microcontrollers Required
« on: July 15, 2008, 04:54:44 PM »
Hello Everyone,
I am trying to build a robot and currently I am in the planning phase. Since I am a complete noob to buiding robots, I  ordered a book on PIC Controllers but, it has yet to arrive. I have designed the chassis and the steering system for the robot, so the mechanical part of it is pretty much done. Now, I only need to know how to control the motors with the microcontrollers and that is what I have questions on. My first question is how precisely can I control the number of turns the motors make with a microcontroller? My second question has been asked before but I didn't get any satisfying answers, so I am asking it again. My second question is if I have multiple devices on a robot and they need to be able to communicate with one another, how do I get them to communicate with a microcontroller.  So if I use a motor to drive the robot and proximity sensors for navigation, how do I get them to talk to one another? Are there web materials out there that go into details on how to do this? Please
give me a link to a site on this subject if you know of a good one. I guess I can wait for my book to arrive but I'd like to start learning as soon as possible. Thank you in advance for your response.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2008, 05:09:41 PM by Builder1 »

Offline bens

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Number of Microcontrollers Required
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2008, 05:27:51 PM »
You keep phrasing things strangely, which is probably why you haven't gotten a satisfactory answer.  An analogy to the way you're stating your questions would be:

I want to walk down the street.  How do I get my eyes to talk to my feet so they know what to do?