go away spammer

Author Topic: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon  (Read 1707 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ambcorp2000Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Helpful? 0
Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« on: August 30, 2011, 07:24:37 PM »
I am stuck trying to figure how to modify HS-311 using Axon and I am not sure of several things in the instructions that other users seemingly found very simple to follow:
1-4) I was able to follow these steps and removed the link between the potentiometer and motor.
5) Plug your servo into your robots mother board like you normally would
- I have used the port to the top-left of the Axon board (when the large electrolytic capacitor is facing you) marked E3. Is this OK?
                                                                                                           
6) Load up your project in AVR Studio
- If this means that I just create an empty project then I was able to complete this step. If not then I need step by step help.

7) Click on the "Connect to the selected AVR Programmer" button. It looks like a little black IC with the white letters "AVR" on it. It should be 2 bars below the Help menu button and to the right...
- I was able to find the button. Hwoever, AVR Studio threw an error saying that connection failed. To be more specific, I chose the default settings on this window (Platform as STK500 or AVRISP and Port as Auto) and pressed the connect button. I got a connection failed error. Then I chose the Port as COM3 (port that connects to Axon through USB-UART) and got the same error. I repeated the steps with the power to Axon switched on and off but the results were identical.

What am I missing? The servo just keeps rotating clockwise in steps that seem to be of 90 degrees. There is no effect of turning the potentiometer. Please help with exact stes since I am brand new. Thank you!!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2011, 09:47:23 AM »
AVR Studio cannot access to bootloader on your Axon. You will either need to follow the bootloader instructions to program by USB, or purchase an ISP programmer to program by AVR Studio.

For modifying a servo, your microcontroller just needs to send a 'zero' command. Your software will say 'go to position zero' by pulsing the servo signal line (any I/O pin on the Axon is fine). Then you rotate the pot until the servo stops rotating, and glue it into place so it doesn't shift with vibration.

If you are still confused, just let us know.

Offline ambcorp2000Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2011, 11:02:15 AM »
Thanks!

Not that I did not attempt to load the centring HEX file on Axon this way. The slash just keeps rotating and after waiting for 5+ hrs, I cancelled the operation. Went to the threads and the only thing I was able to figure is that WindowsXP may need SP3 removed to make the bootloader faster. On my laptop when I go to add and remove programs to rid of SP3, there is no option to remove it.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2011, 11:43:53 PM »
Sorry, some how this thread got lost . . .

Even with SP3, it shouldn't take more than 50 seconds to update the code.

Make sure you are connecting with the right COM port by going to Control Panel -> System -> Hardware tab -> Devices, and looking for Silabs in the USB section.

Offline ambcorp2000Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2011, 06:18:05 PM »
That's OK... I have been trying to work around the problem and I was successful (please look at the last post on this thread)

To double check that all was OK, I used Axon.ht to test the USB connection. No gibberish at all - without attaching a sensor or doing any modifications, HT spewed out....

System Warming Up................Initialization Complete
 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1 port 1
which seems quite fine (this couldn't have been achieved without the Baud rate and other COM3 port settings being OK)

I follow this up with the command: FBOOT17.EXE -b115200 -c1 -pfile.hex -vfile.hex

replacing c1 with c3 and file with Axon. Command is given while Axon is powered off. Upon switching on the Axon......

C:\SoR\Photovore_v1_old>FBOOT17.EXE -b115200 -c3 -paxon.hex -vaxon.hex
COM 3 at 115200 Baud: Connected
Bootloader V2.1
Target: 1E9608 C:\SOR\PHOTOV~1\FBOOT17.DEF
Buffer: 7168 Byte
Size available: 64512 Byte
Program axon.hex: 00000 - 05481 successful
Verify axon.hex: 00000 - 05481 successful
CRC: o.k.
Elapsed time: 45.11 seconds

It worked...... the only difference this time was that I actually used the HyperTerminal before initiating the BootLoader! I do not know if the HT 'enabled' the connection in some way but that is what it seemes like!

Thanks!!
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 06:53:34 PM by ambcorp2000 »

Offline ambcorp2000Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2011, 06:19:00 PM »
Problem solved.... just as guessed Axon has a specific servo centering program axon_ser.hex available at http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/downloads/


« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 06:50:32 PM by ambcorp2000 »

Offline ambcorp2000Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2011, 06:30:46 PM »
Sorry... this was the height of my confusion but I did eventually manage to solve the problem...

Is hold_servo.hex not meant for Axon? (it is not! see post below...) Or is there another catch here? Please help....

C:\SoR\PHOTOV~1>FBOOT17.EXE -b115200 -c3 -phold_servo.hex -vhold_servo.hex
COM 3 at 115200 Baud: Connected
Bootloader V2.1
Target: 1E9608 C:\SOR\PHOTOV~1\FBOOT17.DEF
Buffer: 7168 Byte
Size available: 64512 Byte
File hold_servo.hex open failed !
Program-Error

C:\SoR\PHOTOV~1>FBOOT17.EXE -b115200 -c3 -paxon.hex -vaxon.hex
COM 3 at 115200 Baud: Connected
Bootloader V2.1
Target: 1E9608 C:\SOR\PHOTOV~1\FBOOT17.DEF
Buffer: 7168 Byte
Size available: 64512 Byte
Program axon.hex: 00000 - 05481 successful
Verify axon.hex: 00000 - 05481 successful
CRC: o.k.
Elapsed time: 45.05 seconds
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 06:52:35 PM by ambcorp2000 »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Modifying the HS-311 using Axon
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2011, 06:57:19 PM »
Your file name can't be more than 8 characters long, so 'hold_servo.hex' will need to be renamed.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list