Author Topic: 50$ robot complete noob question about the avr programmer  (Read 2668 times)

Offline miguel83Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
50$ robot complete noob question about the avr programmer
« on: January 13, 2011, 06:04:44 AM »
hello and sorry if i sound a bit frustuated. I'm a complete noob ill state that right now. so please dont assume anything. Ive read and read the 50$ tutorial and here are my challenges.
 when i get to the modify the servo i need a microcontroller which i dont have... so then it has a link to how another guy did it by using an arudino, but i dont have that either :-). so i figuered at the end of the project is the buildling the microcontroller so i have to start there first so that i can approitately fix my servo right? so thats one question.
Next question if i have the avr isp2 programmer and the pocket avr programmer do i still need the dongle programmer?
 it seems like the avr programmer is already usb capable?... at the end when i attempt to program my robot whould i be conecting the dongle to the actual microcontroller? or would i be usingg the pocket avr programmer? im not sure what the purpose of the pocket programmer is ... I bought every single item in the part  list so i have everything that i need except that i dont see a switch on the parts list so i think I need to buy that. It looks like thats how you fired it up again.
Again Please forgive me if i sound frustuated, im a programer, and i have build engines from the ground up (Just to give you a little bit about my background) but I dont have much experience with electronics.
Hope someone can help me.
Thanks
Miguel

Offline walkercreations

• Helpful? 1
    • walkercreations
Re: 50$ robot complete noob question about the avr programmer
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 07:51:12 AM »
Welcome to SoR! I will try to answer your questions.