go away spammer

Author Topic: Microcontroller chips from junk electronics  (Read 12201 times)

Offline urdedTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
  • total noob
Microcontroller chips from junk electronics
« on: October 28, 2008, 08:04:16 AM »
Can this chip be used to run a robot?
I am totally new to robot stuff. I have a bunch of old junk electronics that I have taken apart. I found this micro controller on one of the boards.
http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/stmicroelectronics/2383.pdf has the info on the chip.

The specific chip is the FDIP32W (F) so it seems I should be able to erase the memory by removing the sticker over the center hole. Then be able to reprogram it.

I want to build a robot with my 7 year old son. This would be our first one. We are on a tight budget tho. So if we can find a microcontroller on one of these boards from the junk electronics, that would be great. I have lots of old electronics to choose from. So if someone knows of a common chip that I could look for that would work, I would appreciate it.

Jeremie
« Last Edit: October 29, 2008, 10:15:15 AM by urded »
noob who likes to re-use junk.

Offline ArcMan

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: Microcontroller chip ST M27C2001
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 08:08:53 AM »
That's not a microcontroller.  It's an EPROM.

I don't mean to be brash, but not knowing the difference between the two tells me that you're at square one.

Why not follow the excellent tutorials on this site to build the $50 robot with your son?

• Helpful? 0
  • total noob
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 08:29:40 AM »
I said I was a noob.
Ok, I will just have to buy the microcontroller suggested.

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2008, 02:34:14 AM »
urded, its a fairly common question here actually ;D

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_faq.shtml#best_microcontroller

• Helpful? 0
  • total noob