Author Topic: Please help me design this simple thing  (Read 2181 times)

Offline tsopatsopaTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Please help me design this simple thing
« on: April 28, 2011, 03:25:28 AM »
Hello,
I am a college student majoring on telecommunication. I have to build a simple robot for some experiments I am doing on my graduation research. Yet, I have never build a robot in my life. I draw a draft on how would my robot look like. (Please check out the attached file).
I have tried to build it for like 5 months now but I couldn't.   
Could you please help me build it?
And could you please give me a list of ALL stuffs I have to buy and where to buy them??
Or could you at least tell me where should I start or what should I do first??
Looking forward for your replies. :D
Tsopa.(Japan)

Offline Conscripted

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 10
Re: Please help me design this simple thing
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 05:46:51 AM »
Hello.

What complications have you had during the 5 months that you've been building your bot? Have you had any success?

I like that you've got a drawing of what your robot is supposed to do but it could use a lot more detail. Is it supposed to be an autonomous drill?  How big do you expect it to be.
And could you please give me a list of ALL stuffs I have to buy and where to buy them??
The only way some is going to be able to do that is if they have built this thing already and are giving you a list of the parts they used.

Or could you at least tell me where should I start or what should I do first??

The first thing you need to do is make a list of the requirements for your robot and write them down. List all the tasks you expect the robot to be able to complete. Give this part a lot of thought. After you have a list of what you want the robot to do figure out what it will take to complete each task. Break the robot into pieces or components. Build and test each piece then integrate them into a single robot.