go away spammer

Author Topic: New to PIC microcontrollers  (Read 1915 times)

Offline JayKayTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
New to PIC microcontrollers
« on: April 27, 2012, 11:22:40 AM »
Hi Folks

I am very new to microcontrollers (specifically PICs) and I am not a sofware guy, as such I do not know C or assembly. I have programmed in BASIC for the BASIC STAMP and that was fine (the higher the language the better I can do it).

What I am trying to do and be cost effective is program 2 chips (12F508 and 12F675). I have no hardware (programmer) nor any software at the present time so its a fresh start

I am running a PC with XP with USB ports and no serial ports. As a senior citizen (retired EE...analog career) I want to continue to keep inventive thus my new ham radio antenna project.

I have come to this forum as I believe those in Robotics probably have a good sense what is out there at very cost effective prices and maybe freeware. Another forum just told me to spend all kinds of money for the software.

1) Goal is for me to get a PC based application to write the code in BASIC, compile with checking (into assembly) and then convert to hex...I assume thats the sequence but not sure.
2) Output the hex data on one of my PC USB ports to the board (programmer I guess its called) to burn the PIC chip
3) Since I'll be doing this very rarely, I am trying to keep my costs down
4) It would be great if the the programmer board would be powered by the USB port on my PC and had the proper voltages available for the microcontroller .. maybe only need to add a zener or regualtor.
5) The first microcontroller (675) need only look at its A/D port and then generate a series of pules at GP1 and GP0 based on the voltage level at AN2
6) The 2nd microcontroller (508) need only look at a GP0 and determine when an incoming pulse goes low and ouptut a 1 or 0 a GP1

Any suggestions for this microcontroller newbie would be appreciated.

Thanks
JayKay