Author Topic: Still Gropping In The Dark! Repeat Timer Circuit  (Read 7995 times)

Offline ShakaTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Still Gropping In The Dark! Repeat Timer Circuit
« on: August 14, 2009, 07:58:09 PM »
Hey! I am new to all this but seriously catching on... Just built this repeat timer circuit from ... http://www.reuk.co.uk/Repeat-Timer-Circuit.htm everything seems to be working fine, except that the relay wont charge, even though it’s getting 11.78Volts.

I have looked the diagram and my prototype over to ensure I did everything I was supposed to – still no Joy!
well the Led flashes, the 555 is powered after 20mins, but the relay wont switch on...

My question now is:-
1. Can I use any NPN Transistor for the 555 circuit (I used a 547B)?
2. Is there a generic (multipurpose) value i should be looking for?
3. I don’t know if this is the problem but I seem to be reading two positive reading on both terminals of the relay coil (even with the relay disconnected)

Someone please help.

Offline billhowl

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: Still Gropping In The Dark! Repeat Timer Circuit
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2009, 10:21:04 PM »
In the circuit, the relay should connect directly to 12V supply, because 4060B CMOS binary counter can only source out 6mA. refer this datasheet
http://focus.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/cd4060b.pdf

As for for the 547b transistor, it can only supply 100mA so your relay should draw less then 100mA.
http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/mcc/548B.pdf

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2009, 12:04:29 PM »
Hi,

There's an error in the circuit. It has to be like this:
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2009, 10:34:05 AM »