go away spammer

Author Topic: Arduino Duemilanove, code question, pause or stop function  (Read 15196 times)

Offline TreetpflyerTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Arduino Duemilanove, code question, pause or stop function
« on: December 14, 2008, 03:06:19 PM »
Hi all,

I've been working with the Arduino code.  It seems different than just normal C.  I have a normal hobby servo setup and it's working well.  I would like to insert a switch in the loop code that will allow me to start and stop the loop(on and off).  In the past I've used a goto end statment, but that was years ago and I'm still learning to write code.  When I try to compile it, it gives me an error of "error: 'end' was not declared in this scope"  This is just a copy paste of the servo code from Ardiuno website with some changes for the switch.
Is there something better I can use?  Thanks for your help.

The code is as follows:

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo

int potpin = 0;        // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer
int val;                   // variable to read the value from the analog pin
int switchPin = 2;    // start stop switch
int val2 = 0;           // variable to read the value from the start/stop pin

void setup()
{
  myservo.attach(9);                // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
  pinMode(switchPin, INPUT);    // declare switch as input
}

void loop(){
  val2 = digitalRead(switchPin);        // read input value of switch                           
  if (val2 == HIGH) {                      // check the switch position
  val = analogRead(potpin);             // reads the value of the potentiometer (value between 0 and 1023)
  val = map(val, 0, 1023, 0, 179);     // scale it to use it with the servo (value between 0 and 180)
  myservo.write(val);                      // sets the servo position according to the scaled value
  delay(0  ); }                               // waits for the servo to get there