Author Topic: Buying a Microprocessor VS Requesting Advice  (Read 2628 times)

Offline MaztorShakeTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Buying a Microprocessor VS Requesting Advice
« on: June 12, 2011, 02:32:29 AM »
Alirght. I am new to robotics but I plan on jumping in the deep end when it comes to my first project. I know alil bit of C already so I am looking for a microprocessor that can be programmed in C. Also I have up $500 to spend on one. So... Any ideas?

Offline WaterPig Master

• Helpful? 3
  • Hurdy Gurdy playing at Raglan
    • WaterPigs.co.uk
Re: Buying a Microprocessor VS Requesting Advice
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 03:58:18 AM »
Hello!

If you want to jump in at the deep end, go for it but go carefully and slowly. Trying to do too much too quickly without understanding any of it will only lead to frustration and a waste of your $500 (which is enough to put together some pretty impressive robots if you're willing to shop around and become familiar with development environments!).

I would not personally recommend that you do jump in at the deep end, I think it is best to start with a few small, simple projects. But, whatever floats your boat… :)

You say you know a bit of C, that will help greatly, I think. I do not currently program embedded controllers in C, so cannot help you with selection.

What is your electronics knowledge like? Do you have access to common parts, a multimeter, a breadboard, soldering iron? You will certainly be able to put together a robot with prebuilt, shop bought parts (especially on a budget like yours) but it helps greatly when things go wrong to have a working knowledge of what's happening 'underneath'.

Thanks,
Barnaby

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 09:07:17 AM »
Almost all the current micro-processors and micro-controller have C available in the development tools. It is the tools and not the processor that supports using C. Any idea which processor family you will start with?