Author Topic: $50 Dollar Robot Blinking LED  (Read 4064 times)

Offline ekcneptaTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
$50 Dollar Robot Blinking LED
« on: June 19, 2009, 10:31:05 PM »
Hey everyone,

I am a Computer Science student just getting into robotics and electronics. I built the $50 robot and made the LED turn on every time the power is on. For about a month everything has been working fine until recently, when I noticed that when I turn the power on, the LED would start blinking very fast. My LED burned out shortly after I noticed it was blinking. I just replaced it, and I am sure that I connected the replacement the right way, but it blinks as well. I noticed it would only blink when one or both servos are connected to the circuit and stays constantly lit otherwize. Connected or not, the photoresistors do not seem to affect it.

I wanted to ask you, is there a chance any of the components have burned out and do you think I should worry about that? I am attaching an IR distance scanner next week and would like to make sure everything works properly. Unfortunately, I do not have any equipment to measure the voltage in the circuit. I am using a 6V pack to power both the servos and the microcontroller ATMega8.

I would appreciate your feedback! Thanks for the great website!

Offline Miles

• Helpful? 1
Re: $50 Dollar Robot Blinking LED
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2009, 11:42:31 PM »
maybe check the battery is fully charged

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2009, 11:54:13 PM »
Thanks for the response!

I just replaced the batteries with new ones. Unfortunately, the LED keeps blinking when I connect the servos.

Offline Miles

• Helpful? 1
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2009, 04:59:00 AM »
Are you using the circuit board in the tutorial? Also does the robot still do it's job driving around and reacting to light?

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2009, 12:13:06 PM »