go away spammer

Author Topic: Robot Ramble: New Project for the New Guy  (Read 5947 times)

Offline robotramble_uhsTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Robot Ramble: New Project for the New Guy
« on: November 27, 2006, 08:43:35 AM »
Robot Ramble

Hello all.
I am new at robot building and I am looking for some help in designing a robot. This is going to be a long thread.

I have some ideas and I’m thinking about 6 different operations besides movement. I’m working off battery(ies) that total 9.6 volts (added up all together). My goal is to create a robot that can move, pick up corks, ping-pong balls, pennies, a CD, etc.

By reading, I understand that I am going to need:
- a microcontroller (or microprocessor)
- servo utilities that control my motors (I need to learn how to control how much the motor turns, meaning that a flap has to open or close)
- motor drivers
- H-bridge

My first question is: is this all I need, or do I need more?
And my second: What parts would you recommend? (lower prices are better :) )

Offline JonHylands

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
    • Jon's Place
Re: Robot Ramble: New Project for the New Guy
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2006, 09:28:03 AM »
Corks and ping-pong balls will be relatively straightforward. Pennies and CDs will not be.

You might want to narrow your scope a little to start with - building a robot that moves under control is a pretty big challenge for most beginners.

After you have that, then look at the simple cases - things that are easy to pick up. You need to decide a couple of things - how do you sense the object that is there to be picked up? What are you going to do with it once you've picked it up? Is your robot going to be autonomous or remote controlled?

Look at this page for some ideas, or maybe you'd rather just buy a kit and assemble it:

http://www.lynxmotion.com/Category.aspx?CategoryID=57

You could also look at this, to mount on a robot base: