Author Topic: USB Power?  (Read 1708 times)

Offline andd64Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
USB Power?
« on: August 05, 2009, 09:45:40 AM »
Hey guys,

I need to power two lasers, each is 3.2 V, 25 mW, and somewhere between 40-60 mA - i was hoping to use the power from the USB port.  I know that a USB port outputs 5 V, about 500 mA max, so can someone please help me figure out how to properly power both the lasers?  I'm a novice at circuitry so help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: USB Power?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 03:11:52 PM »
well, each laser runs at 3V2... the usb provides 5V... we have a Delmore...
you *could* runs two sets of series in parallel but then they would only get 2V5 each....
the best thing i can think of is getting a 3V regulator with a 500mA output and using that to step down the voltage.
Howdy

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2009, 03:21:52 PM »
well, each laser runs at 3V2... the usb provides 5V... we have a Delmore...
you *could* runs two sets of series in parallel but then they would only get 2V5 each....
the best thing i can think of is getting a 3V regulator with a 500mA output and using that to step down the voltage.

Two sets of series in parallel? That yes no not yes no make sense  :P

http://www.hebeiltd.com.cn/?p=zz.led.resistor.calculator
3.2 voltage drop at 60ma is a 30ohm resistor in series with the laser.

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2009, 04:04:27 PM »
ahh crap lol, i thought he had four, no idea where i got that from :P
Howdy

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2009, 05:10:35 PM »
lol thanks.. so then should i get a 3V regulator?  How would the connection work? I just need one regulator for the two lasers?

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0