go away spammer

Author Topic: Laptop Robot  (Read 3027 times)

Offline maitriTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Laptop Robot
« on: December 05, 2009, 09:39:09 AM »
Hi All,

I am new here and fairly new to robotics having never built\owned one.  I am an AI software programmer and have created some interesting vision processing algorithms I want to test in real world robot scenarios.

So here is what I want to do...my laptop would be on a robot base that I make of plywood or some other material.  All i want to be able to do is to control the wheels.  The laptop will have a webcam and based on that input I will navigate the robot.  So I assume all i need is a microcontroller board that I can connect to my laptop perhaps via RS232 or USB to which I can issue commands to tell each wheel what to do.

Pretty simple, eh?  So can anyone recommend the easiest board for me to work with that I can simply plug in some motors, a battery and my laptop and be off and running?  I do want to possibly add some other peripherals to the board in the future that I could receive inputs from, but for now the webcan directly connected to the laptop is all I need...and the ability to control the wheel motors.

Best,
Kevin

Offline definitionofis

• Helpful? 1
Re: Laptop Robot
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2009, 02:41:15 PM »
I would pick a motor controller based on the type of motors,
for example, these:

http://www.robotshop.ca/motor-controllers.html

For a low budget approach, you could run any low amp DC motor
with this self-solder board and parts:
http://www.robotshop.ca/solarbotics-l298-motor-driver-kit-2.html

It would be a three wheeler, with two separately motorized wheels for steerability.

You could toggle the on/offs on the motor controller by directly wiring them to a parallel port.

Since those parallel ports aren't available much these days,
I'd pick a controller with a USB connector to run to the laptop.