Author Topic: UPDATED: Weave Modular Robotics Problem  (Read 2530 times)

Offline WaterPig MasterTopic starter

• Helpful? 3
  • Hurdy Gurdy playing at Raglan
    • WaterPigs.co.uk
UPDATED: Weave Modular Robotics Problem
« on: April 25, 2011, 12:39:13 PM »
[Formerly "Return to Robotics"]

Hi there everyone,

I joined this forum several years ago, at the age of 12, trying to make robots. I made the classic complete beginner mistake of trying to do too much, too fast, and not understanding any of it. 4 years later and I'm back in the game! Taking things more slowly and understanding all the circuits in my current robot, Weave (photos attached).

So called because his shell is a woven wood bowl (from a Chinese supermarket in Liverpool), the base is plywood. Homemade spacers hold the circuit boards and shell onto the base, and a lego subassembly holds the Copal gearmotors, lego gears and wheels on the bottom.

Currently the only circuit is a MOSFET H-Bridge Motor Driver (driven by three 4427s that Maxim was kind enough to send me free samples of) and power regulator, built in Dead-Bug prototyping style. It's a bit rickety but works well, and was good soldering practise for the other two boards required, a 38kHz IR obstacle detector board and a board with the brains (a PIC of some form) on. They're coming later.

I look forward to exchanging knowledge and experiences on SOR!

Thanks,
Barnaby
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 11:10:26 AM by WaterPig Master »

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Return to robotics after a few years off
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2011, 03:32:26 PM »
Hi,

Is the chassis made of a car tire?

I like the alternative material choices, but you might need to pour some epoxy over the loose component wires to hold everything firmly in place, or it may shake 'n' break apart.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...