go away spammer

Author Topic: Sensors for exoskeleton  (Read 2069 times)

Offline nikola.efremovTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Sensors for exoskeleton
« on: September 24, 2013, 04:57:38 AM »
Hello guys,

I'm really new to this, but I'm part of a team that is trying to built an exoskeleton. The initial prototype will be pre-programmed to walk and it should support below-pelvis disabled people, so that will include legs only.

I need to choose sensors for the task, we are planning a very basic construction with accelerometers and gyroscopes. Can you please go through the pros and cons of both and suggest which ones to use and where?

Thank you!

Kind Regards,
Nikola

Offline vipulan12

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Sensors for exoskeleton
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2013, 02:25:24 PM »
well if you doing something like HAL you dont really need those since the exoskeleton would make movement based on the data or the muscle movements it detects
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=hal+exoskeleton&oq=hal+exoskeleton&gs_l=youtube.3...41540.50044.0.50225.22.16.6.0.0.1.273.2322.5j1j9.15.0...0.0...1ac.1.11.youtube.VpSXSpuzJbA

if you were making a biped robot you would probably need those
unless you plan on making the exoskeleton do all the walking then you would need them

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2013, 02:51:24 AM »
Hello,

Thanks for the response.

I took a look at HAl and a few others beforehand. However, he exoskeleton we are doing will be targeted for paraplegics and therefore no muscle movement can be detected. We will need some kind of a controller to move the exoskeleton later on, but as I said the initial prototype will just be pre-programmed to travel X distance.

Therefore I still think I will need gyros and accelerometers as I see it, but I need more details on the pros and cons of each (should I use only gyros/accelerometers or a combination of both) and where to place them for maximum effect in this case.