Author Topic: Precision vision  (Read 2184 times)

Offline darshanvarierTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Precision vision
« on: June 05, 2012, 11:03:28 PM »
Hi. I'm new to robotics, so I don't know much about the component names.
I'm trying to build an image processing unit, which measures dimensions of objects.
I have very little restriction regarding costs. But I need it to have as much precision as possible(0.03% error) (translates to roughly 3000 pixels lengthwise)
The object to be measured is black in colour, against a white background. Also, it is always at a fixed distance from the camera. And I only need to measure it in one dimension -i.e. Only the width.
I have considered using
1) IP camera
2) webcam
3) Point and shoot camera (a.k.a. compact camera, digicam)
4) Infrared emitter / Sensor
Any other sensor is also acceptable.
The problem is, I cannot figure out how precise these are. Nor do I know whether these can be used for image processing.
Please tell me the pros and cons of these options.
Please note: The object will look like a rectangle when viewed from the camera.

Additional info: The object will vibrate(very little) but it is expected to vibrate at about 10 times per second or something. I wonder if a webcam/digicam can still capture a picture, with required accuracy..
« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 03:14:02 AM by darshanvarier »

Offline ahudak

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Precision vision
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2012, 12:24:50 PM »
Hi,

Well.....in a word nope....
1) IP camera
2) webcam
3) Point and shoot camera (a.k.a. compact camera, digicam)

There are 2 problem's with these 3:
A) The object vibrates ten time a second this means your camera needs a frame rate of at least 100ms, 50ms would be better
B) The image processing in these will give you a picture or video file, neither one will be useful to you

4) Infrared emitter / Sensor
A) this is more useful for is something there or not