go away spammer

Author Topic: Power Problems  (Read 3951 times)

Offline Walter103Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Power Problems
« on: March 30, 2013, 01:48:38 PM »
Hi there,
     I'm new to robotics and I am having an issue with the electronics aspect of my first robot. Here is a run down on the project.

I am using lynxmotion tracks and sprockets combined with a custom chassis I made with the help of a local machinist. It is driven by two banebots rs550 motors with 16:1 gearboxes. Power has been supplied by a 11.1volt 15c (20c burst)1200 mAH lithium polymer battery. Although I plan to use an Arduino to control my bot in the future, I am currently just controlling it via an rc transmitter and receiver with a sabertooth 2x12 rc motor controller. The whole thing weighs in at about 12 pounds.

It runs fine for a short time on a full charge, but after a bit the motors just jerk a little and the error light comes on on the sabertooth. I believe my problem lies either in the battery or the motor controller. Either the battery can't supply enough power, or the motors are pulling to much current for the sabertooth to handle. How much current do the rs550 motors draw? I believe the saber tooth is rated for 12amps...

Battery? Motor controller? Some other part? I'm just looking for advice from more experienced people!

Thanks!
Walter

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Power Problems
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2013, 03:34:09 PM »
Did you look at the motors specs on Banebot's web site??
Its here:
http://banebots.com/p/M5-RS550-12
The No load current is 1.4A and max current is 85A.

How long does it run from after changing the Batteries??
If 10minute (1/6 hour) and with a 1.2A-Hr battery means that the motors are drawing about 7.2Amp which is well within the Banebot spec. These motors can draw much, much more current than this.

Have you measured the actual current draw of the motors?