Author Topic: AVR ISP MKII .. what to expect ($50 dollar question)  (Read 3900 times)

Offline dannyboy1121Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
AVR ISP MKII .. what to expect ($50 dollar question)
« on: May 28, 2010, 04:42:58 PM »
As I've never used an AVR ISP II bit banger before - I could do with a quick pointer or two:

I understand that the unit should have 2 x green lights. One for the connection to the PC .. the other for the connection to the circuit?

Assuming I power the PCB -

Should the light for the PCB connection come up straight away on the AVR  (regardless of whether I'm trying to connect with Atmel studio) ?

For that matter .. should the LED come on at all prior to uploading code?

Yes .. I'm that much of a n00b.

Offline Webbot

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

• Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII .. what to expect ($50 dollar question)
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2010, 02:35:23 AM »
Trust you've read http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/290

Nope .. I'm a complete idiot. Thanks for that. Just what the doctor ordered.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2010, 12:14:40 PM »
Hmmm .. so under closer inspection, the nice man from China who sold me the AVR ISP MKII actually sold me an AVR ISP MK2 STK500 - and it's clone hardware. I'm not sure what the STK500 part relates to and whether it means it's different.

When plugging the unit in, it adds a USB to Serial device - and another Serial device on a COM port (in device manager).

To connect to it with Atmel Studio - if I try to use AVRISP MKII + USB - connection flops. If I use STK500 and select the correct COM port, it connects. However, if I attempt to erase or program the ATMega8, it flops. I've adjusted the ISP frequency and it still flops.