Author Topic: Programming "environments" and chip sets  (Read 2281 times)

Offline tjumpTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Programming "environments" and chip sets
« on: November 11, 2008, 09:00:29 AM »
Hi All,

I'm checking for understanding on an issue that has plagued me often; and I may need some clarification on what I'm asking and how I'm asking it as I am not a programming professional.

First, what I am trying to communicate by the term programming "environment":
RoboLab, Interactive C, AVRStudio, Eclipse...these are ???? (please give me a technical term here like IDE or ?) that get loaded onto a workstation and are opened to do programming for an external device (i.e. uC).

Now the question, are these different programming "environments" restricted to specific chip sets? (i.e. ARStudio only programs Atmel AVR chips and not Motorola chips) So, if you have different uCs you may need multiple programming "environments"?

Is it possible/easy to add a few files to an existing programming "environment" to get it to interface with different chips?

Is there a generic programming "environment" that works with all chips?

Any clarification here would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
T. Jump

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Programming "environments" and chip sets
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 02:47:20 AM »
To program a microcontroller, you need this list of software:

text editor to see your code
compiler to convert your code into machine language
uploader code to transfer it from your PC to an external device
drivers to allow for USB/etc. for hardware communication

The text editor, being no more complicated than notepad, can be used for anything.