Author Topic: Biting off more than I can chew. SO overwhelmed by the knowledge here.  (Read 3245 times)

Offline gericurl76Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
1st post, here goes:
I cannot describe how small I feel among you guys.

I am a graphic designer by trade preparing to go back for my master's degree in the fall. I am totally a design/art-minded person. I did excellent in geometry and physics classes, but most math escapes my tiny brain.

The reason I am here is, I am outfitting my truck:

to be a search and rescue vehicle. I'm off to a good start, but my latest idea has led me to this site.

Too often rescue operations go on at night so I find myself needing a good exterior lighting system.
My plan for the roof lights is to make them pan and tilt using an inside controller. Inspiration came from this system from Lucrum Industries:
Lucrum Lighting System Prototype Demo
Lucrum is no longer making this system (not to mention the $1700.00+ price tag it had). It also had some limitations that I hope to overcome (with a lot of help from you guys)

My design goals:
•Lights (4, usually two spot beam and two flood) will pan 360º and tilt about 135º up and down.
•The system will be mounted to the top of the truck to an aluminum roof rack (Baja Rack is already on board to help design/fabricate the roof rack http://www.bajarack.com/)
•Although my truck is garage-kept, it spends much time off the beaten path. Not to mention the vast majority of search and rescue operations are no where near pavement. So the system will have to withstand harsh weather, constant airflow at freeway speeds, and a good amount of jostling when driving over rocks and streams etc...
•Lights should be removable/ interchangeable in the event that one is damaged or better lights are obtained.
•Estimated size of lights is 4"-6" diameter (currently I am compiling dimension specs on the most popular options available)