Author Topic: Learning about Microcontrollers  (Read 2584 times)

Offline BigKLaxerTopic starter

• Helpful? 2
    • Power Wheels Robot Project
Learning about Microcontrollers
« on: August 27, 2008, 08:50:37 AM »
Well I'm brand new to robotics but I've spent the past few weeks reading up on the subject and exploring this site and others like it.  I would like to get started and begin building my own robot but the thing is I'd rather build my own augmented microcontroller than buy one to start with.  I read the $50 robot tutorial and I saw how to build one but I'm more interested in understanding how they work so I can apply the knowledge in the future to build more complex MCU's later on.

So I was wondering if any of you vets or experienced electrical engineers out there could help me out by explaining the workings of an MCU or pointing me to sites that fully explain their functioning.
Experimental Mobile Robotics Platform: http://www.udrobot.blogspot.com

Offline sotu

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
  • ïBB - Eye Biped Bot
    • Easy Built Biped Bot
Re: Learning about Microcontrollers
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2008, 10:32:00 AM »
Heres another, very usefull tutorial on how to make a microcontroller. http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/63
You could perhaps read information on each component on the circuit board, so you know every task they have. For example why you need to attach an capacitor to the board: If your servos/motors suddenly need a stronger power pulse.
If you know the task of each component, it should be easier to start knowing what you need to build one of theese boards.

To learn about components: wikipedia - enough said ;)
How to build a biped bot:

Offline ArcMan

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2008, 10:47:19 AM »