go away spammer

Author Topic: Need help with microcontroller selection  (Read 2964 times)

Offline gibsongtr874Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Need help with microcontroller selection
« on: June 21, 2009, 08:30:08 PM »
I am considering purchasing the Axon microconroller for my first robot, would that be a good choice? What kind of programing does it use or does it come with a program? I am new to this but very interested just not sure where to start. Also considering the Basic Stamp by Paralax, please help.

Offline jamort

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Need help with microcontroller selection
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2009, 09:10:02 PM »
This is a question that can have so many choices after i tell you what i kno...
1.) The axon is one of the best microcontrollers your going to buy....
2.) basic is really easy to program, but has limits...
3.)c and c++ are a little or maybe a lot (depends on person) harder to learn but it has less limits then basic...

the axon is programmed in c.... it be the way to go if your up to learning the programming
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline Metal Slug 2

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2009, 09:36:47 PM »
Why not start with an (arduino-based) Roboduino?

The roboduino is a great start to any first-time robotics project and many more advanced ones.  The programming interface is easy to learn, has tons of libraries/example codes and no external programmer is needed to program the board.  With the use of a few jumperwires, you can utilize the power of the many different arduino shields available.  You can purchase the roboduino here: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

A bonus is that you can choose a pre-soldered board or a kit, depending on whether you want to solder or not.  The roboduino uses an Atmega128 microcontroller from Atmel.