go away spammer

Author Topic: Electronics noob wants to create a wearable RF detecting haptic sensor  (Read 2172 times)

Offline Marley577Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
So my idea is to take an rf sensor that is able to detect signal strength in the 2.4Ghz range (spectrum of wifi and most wireless devices or so I have read), and connect it to any sort of motor or vibrator that I could wear in contact with my skin and would increase in vibrational strength in correlation to the signal strength, thus allowing me to feel 2.4Ghz signals (6th sense?). The entire apparatus should be fairly small and wearable as a bracelet or arm band thing. I am very much a total beginner at this and thought that if, eventually, by the time I piece this whole thing together, I would have taught myself the basic electronics I desire to learn. So where should I begin? What do I need to know? I found this, I have no idea if it will do what I need done or not:

http://www.qsl.net/n9zia/wireless/pics/LED_sig_meter.png
Is this a step in the right direction? Or am I already headed off the deep end?

I signed up here and hopefully you all can help me out! Thanks!

Offline mstacho

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 10
hahaha that's a fantastic little project.  It seems like it'll be fun, too, but if you're an electronics newbie I might suggest that you go for a much simpler project.  This isn't because I don't think you can put the circuit together, but I just don't think a newbie would understand why they are putting all the sensors, capacitors, etc into the circuit in the first place.  For instance, can you explain why there is a 0.1uF capacitor going into some of the pins of the RF detector chip?  Does it matter if it's 0.1uF or 0.2?

My point is that finding a circuit online and just putting it together will give you experience assembling the circuit, but you'll still be stuck when you have another project that you'll need to do the design for but won't understand how.