Author Topic: Custom USB Drivers  (Read 4553 times)

Offline vonlarkTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Custom USB Drivers
« on: December 31, 2007, 04:19:19 PM »
I'd love to be able to plug my projects into my computer's usb port and control them from my computer. Unfortunately I know next to nothing about usb communication. How can I get started writing drivers to interface with my custom usb devices?

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Custom USB Drivers
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 04:37:03 PM »
I'm not an expert on this so others should definitely comment . . .

The method I do it is by using a chip called CP2102 which does a USB to UART conversion, then I use hyperterminal to send messages and commands.

this is my uart tutorial that might help you:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/microcontroller_uart.shtml

Offline SomeSaba

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 07:50:13 PM »
So u dont need like a TTL to 10volt serial conversion then again another one from serial to USB?

If its just USB to UART i assume thats TTL and u can connect the converted signal straight to the pins on ur mcu?
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 07:50:48 PM by SomeSaba »

Offline SomeSaba

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2007, 08:02:59 PM »
I just looked it up and i cant find a non-surface mount version o.0 is this correct?

Offline frank26080115

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2007, 09:29:43 PM »
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=198

what's the big difference between a FT232 and the CP2102?

I'm also working on learning USB... It'd be cool to be able to grab frames from a webcam on a robot, right now all i know is I can get a bunch of info if i type lsusb into my terminal...

Offline vonlarkTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2008, 01:24:48 AM »