Author Topic: Personal Robot as a Commercially Available Product  (Read 1833 times)

Offline amigoTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Personal Robot as a Commercially Available Product
« on: March 15, 2014, 05:53:09 PM »
I have a degree in mechanical engineering and run an awarded manufacturing operation for 15 years where I also happen to be the head of design & engineering. My passion is in product design, engineering and manufacturing, from balance a production line to the design and deployment of simple automation by the use of PLCs (which I find mostly archaic). I have a knowledge in Visual Basic and basic electronics. I use to build radios when I was 10 and still remember Basic from my Sinclair ZX80. Those were good time and actually when recently I have to develop a new application fro tablets using Visual Basic I could not believe how unfriendly the Visual Basic interface and commands seems to be. I thought by now computer language would be a lot more streamlined. So my strength is in aluminium structural design and mechanisms and manufacturing. That allowed me to come this far.

However I have the passion to make personal robots to help people on every days tasks. I would like to start with simple solutions that I can develop mostly myself. then expans as a team and manufacture it in the US. As a future goal, this could grow into a very nice company that could be all robotics, from automated pods, to sophisticated robots. So my immediate goal is to learn the other areas of robotics that are not my strength such as electronics and computer science, mechanic specific things and of course the whole integration of it.

So I have three basic questions: